[The iPad Lawyer] The Apple Watch: I’m Late, I’m Late for a Very Important Date

The Apple Watch: I’m Late, I’m Late for a Very Important Date

by

Scott J. Grossberg, Esq.

I’m late!
I’m late!
For a very important date!
No time to say “Hello”, “Goodbye!”
I’m late!
I’m late!

– The White Rabbit (Disney’s Alice in Wonderland)

The concept of wearable technology isn’t new. We’ve fantasized and immortalized such devices for years. Just take a look at Dick Tracy and his 2-way wrist radio or any of the communicator devices from Star Trek. And I’m sure a fair number of you had or toyed with the calculator watches of the 1980’s. Now, we have the Apple Watch with its own variation of iOS. The question is: Do you really need this?

The answer, of course, depends on whether the Apple Watch will remarkably make you more effective, more efficient, or more bankable – or all three.

The use of an Apple Watch isn’t just about looking trendy, monitoring your health, letting you answer a phone, or responding to text and email messages. I suggest to you that it’s really about ensuring potent and impressive knowledge transfer (“the process through which one unit (e.g., group, department, or division) is affected by the experience of another” – L. Argote & P. Ingram). To put it another way, the Apple Watch — because of its synchronization with your other iOS devices, the playfulness of its abilities, and its sheer novelty — is going to motivate you like never before to share information, monitor and measure data in a mindful way, and to actually use the messages and details available to you.

I think we all know that knowledge is completely futile unless we actually use it. So let’s get to it . . . here are some ways I predict the Apple Watch will take you from the downright novelty of the device to massive breakthroughs in your current disconnected way of handling all the information that others want to send you, and your continuing need for automated content creation:

1. You can easily dictate content. I have been a fan of using voice dictation through the Siri interface since the last iOS version. In fact, I’m dictating emails, text messages, and documents more now than ever. You simply can’t type as fast as you can talk.

2. You can get important and potentially life-saving “it’s time to move” reminders. I’m a pretty active guy and even I didn’t realize how much I was actual sitting throughout the day until I started using a Nike Fuel band. The Apple Watch will remind you to get up and move when you’ve been sitting too long. By the way, one recent study from Toronto revealed that sitting for too long creates a higher risk of heart disease, diabetes, cancer and death even if you have a regular exercise program. And, of course, the Apple Watch will do its own fitness tracking.

3. You’ll get fast and efficient and accessible content through “Glances,” “Actionable Notifications” and “Apps” screens and messages. From read-only items to iPhone and iPad app extensions, you now merely need to peek at your wrist. You will also have Passbook accessibility. This means no more fetching your phone for the information you previously stored on your phone like plane tickets, boarding passes, loyalty cards, etc.

4. You’ll have a backdoor to a lot of powerful apps: Calendar, Maps, Apple TV, iTunes, Stopwatch, Timer, Alarm, Stocks, Weather, Photos, Siri, etc.

Now, by this point, you must be asking: “But I already have an iPhone or iPad and they do this same stuff. Why do I need a watch, too?

Well, let’s start with the fact that the watch will likely be with you (or “on you” as Apple likes to say) all the time unlike your other iOS devices. Because your watch is on you, you’ll receive notifications, messages, and information and be able to act on them right away, if needed. This, then, permits you to establish a new workflow with your office and colleagues as you give new meaning and thought to handling time-sensitive matters. Most importantly, the Apple Watch works with both Bluetooth and WiFi. That means, in a WiFi environment like your home or office, you can be nearly anywhere and still have access to your data. When time is truly of the essence, having such immediate and easy access to notices, warnings, and information may make all the difference.

On a practical level, what does this all do for you? Well, by incorporating wearable technology into your workflow, you’ll effectively be shifting your focus from taking time to find your phone, retrieve out of your purse, pocket, or briefcase, unlock it, and only then getting or creating content to actually saving time because the notifications on the watch come right to you so long as the watch is on your wrist and locked (that’s a security feature you should be happy about).

As business people, time is money. And if you insist on being late to the wearable technology game, you’ll be losing time. I guarantee your competition isn’t going to suffer the same foolishness. Need I say more?

If you’d like more information about the Apple Watch, here is the official website:

https://www.apple.com/watch/

Let’s take this discussion further . . . You can find me on Facebook, Google+, Twitter, and LinkedIn and at https://theipadlawyer.wordpress.com or  http://milliondollaripad.wordpress.com.

If you enjoyed this, I’d be grateful if you share this with others. That’s right, go ahead and help spread this information by emailing it to a friend, or sharing it on Twitter, Facebook, or Google+. And, if you’re interested in finding out how I can make a presentation to your law firm or association, please contact me at 909-483-1850 or email me at sgrossberg@cgclaw.com.© 2015 by Scott Grossberg. All Rights Reserved.

2 responses to “[The iPad Lawyer] The Apple Watch: I’m Late, I’m Late for a Very Important Date

  1. Ralph Williams, III, Esq.

    Best iWatch review so far. You are a star. I doubt I will be getting an iWatch soon. It goes against my limited stuff mantra.

    BTW, we now have iPhone 6s, so I need you to remind me of the enhanced camera app you recommended and I did not download.

    Hope all is well for you and the family.

    Ralph O. Williams III ADR Services T: 310.201.0010 F: 310.201.0016 D: 818.986.8101 rwilliams@adrservices.org

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

