Questions From You/Answers From Me (Part 2)

IPAD FOR LAWYERS – QUESTIONS FROM YOU/ANSWERS FROM ME (PART 2)

by

Scott J. Grossberg, Esq.

Following on the heels of last month’s article, here are some more questions from readers and the answers I provided. Feel free to write me with any additional inquiries you might have. After all, this is all about making you massively productive and profitable by using your iPad in business.

Question #8
Can I pick Mr. Grossberg’s brain re issues concerning capturing client billing? We have a BIG problem with phone calls/ text messages/ telephone conferences with my attorney and clients/experts, etc. He does not track or enter his billing for these things unless he’s at the office and unfortunately, about 75% of those are outside the office. Is there an app or something you can recommend that would help with this? He has the iPhone4S and an iPad. – B.H.

Answer #8
As someone who deals with capturing time ALL THE TIME, it sounds like your attorney needs less app options and more discipline in simply capturing his time. That being said, I mentioned the Notesy app (http://notesy-app.com) during the Apple presentation. And . . . I will be posting an article about time and billing using Notesy in the near future. Notesy will allow your attorney to use Siri or his keyboard to capture his activities/time/notes on the go, instantly sync with Dropbox (https://dropbox.com), and retrieve those entries on any computer (the entries are saved in .txt format and can easily be copied and pasted into most other programs). However, your attorney is going to have to consistently use the app for it to be truly productive.

Question #9
I found your article interesting since we’ve also had requests for file syncing through iTunes from other attorneys that said they couldn’t use Dropbox because their firm had restrictions on syncing private data to cloud based services. – P.L.

Answer #9
Thanks for the response. While I can certainly understand some of the overcautious types not wanting to use Cloud services because of confidentiality and security issues that have arisen in the past, I believe there is a reasonable expectation of privacy and security with most of the major Cloud-based services. For that reason, I permit my attorneys to use Notesy with Dropbox. In fact, it is the instant syncing that makes the app SO powerful and easy to use. You might also find it interesting that I have run across some attorneys who use an iPad without any iTunes connectivity or access (surprising but true).

Question #10
I’m curious with the disclaimer language posted, if you feel it appropriate to divulge client contact details and dictate client work product through Siri or if you limit Siri dictation to non-client work product types of projects. – A.C.

Answer #10
Thank you for writing. For me, Siri is an invaluable part of my workflow. As such, you might want to check out the September 2012 article by Nikki Black at americanbar.org. I am also aware of press coverage as to IBM’s concern over Siri and the ACLU’s warnings. However, with the great promises that Siri brings to law practice management, productivity, and profitability for lawyers, perhaps one of the best ways to partially address the ethical issues is to give a disclosure to your clients with a specific reference that you communicate by cell phone, email, and the Cloud. If the client does not agree with your workflow you can either modify your techniques or choose a new client. Naturally, I would be circumspect in using ANY online or Cloud system in handling highly sensitive and confidential matters.

Remember, too, that there will always be ethical challenges presented as technology advances. I can only imagine what the buzz must have been around when the telephone partyline and dangers of eavesdropping were recognized. Imagine the stir that arose when cell phones had signals that could be inadvertently intercepted by another passing user and, of course, the dreaded facsimile raised questions of reasonable expectations of privacy. While we certainly have the highest duty to protect our clients’ confidentialities and keep our privileges intact, I have no doubt that ethical guidelines will become more clear in the future to permit attorneys to use the massive benefits that advancing technology provides.

I suppose, of course, I could go back to using the pen and quill that sits on my desk. (Now I just have to find that carrier pigeon.)

Question #11
The iPad needs a “back” button. If I click on a link in an email, it will take me to, for example, Facebook. After I read the post I have to exit safari, re-open my email, and get back in by the desktop. Is there an easier way?

Answer #11
Actually, it’s not “back” that you want. You want to easily switch between apps. Just double click the “home” button (the round one at the bottom front of your iPad). This will open the multi-tasking menu at the bottom of your screen and allow you to powerfully switch back and forth between apps.

Question #12
Have you solved the problem that has perplexed me since the introduction of iOS 5 and the wireless capability, namely, not projecting a full 16×9 image? Other than HD movies, I am unable to wirelessly project a 16×9 image to monitors or projectors. The resulting image is usually 4×3 or something closer to square. Have you experienced that issue and solved it? Most folks I have discussed this issue with are not concerned with the 4×3 image. For my purposes, I would much rather have the image spread over the entire screen. I have found that changing the aspect ratio resolution through the monitor’s setting to create a full screen results in losing part of the image. I have the same result using monitors and projectors with HDMI input, but I have not had the occasion to use the Epson projector that you reference in your materials. Have you experienced the problem, solved it, or decided to live with it? Thanks for your help.

Also, do you discuss in your presentations that a wireless iPad presentation can be accomplished without an Internet connection, and using only a plain router signal (not connected to the Internet)? The issue of a bad or unreliable Internet connection can be totally avoided by including a travel router with your presentation equipment. The only disadvantage I know is having to rely on slides and other images and documents already on the iPad and not being to access the Internet. – H.D.

Answer#12

Down The 16:9 Rabbit-Hole

You raise an interesting question (the challenge of achieving 16:9 screen format/aspect ratio over 4:3). Naturally, many of the locales I appear at are now using widescreen plasma or LCD monitors. This can result in black bars appearing on the top and bottom on a 4:3 screen when projecting in 16:9, and black bars appearing on the sides of a 16:9 monitor when using a 4:3 aspect ratio.

So . . . first and foremost you need to know that most of the time I am not using an external monitor for presenting. Rather, I am using the old-fashioned projection screen because that is what is offered in conference facilities. Alternatively, most courtrooms and boardrooms still don’t have widescreen monitors readily available. While monitors are certainly more user friendly, the good news is that my projector (Epson MegaPlex) allows output at either 16:9 or 4:3. This gives me the maximum flexibility. (As a reminder, I am using my Apple TV to connect with an HDMI cable to the projector.)

If I am using an external monitor, I am really not too concerned about the aspect ratio differences (and most are still providing VGA connections rather than HDMI). I use whatever the host location is providing. I certainly do not want to start tweaking with my host’s monitor settings. As you might imagine, I am not using an Apple TV setup when working on someone else’s equipment.

As a side note, most of the Apple personnel I appear with use their iPhones to present on a widescreen monitor. The iPhone 5 projects, I believe, in a 16:9 aspect ratio.

Look, Ma, I’m Not Even Using The Internet

In my presentations, I do not instruct attendees on how to network their devices (iPad and Apple TV) without internet access using a separate network router. However, I am starting to tell them about AirServer (http://airserverapp.com) and the use of an ad hoc (peer to peer) wireless network created by using my MacBook Pro (the MacBook Pro can then be connected for presentation purposes similar to the way an Apple TV would otherwise be used). In other words:

1. Click on the Wi-Fi symbol/icon at the top right of the MacBook’s screen
2. Click on “Create Network”
3. Create name for your private network
4. Pick the channel you wish to use
5. Secure with a password
6. On the iPad, go to Settings
7. Select the new network you created
8. Start up AirServer
9. Mirror as you would with an Apple TV

As I have written about before, there is also a Mac App called Reflection (https://reflectorapp.com) that will essentially do the same as AirServer.

Thanks, again, to everyone for your terrific questions.

© 2013 by Scott Grossberg. All Rights Reserved.

Mr. Grossberg is a founding partner of the Southern California law firm of Cihigoyenetche, Grossberg & Clouse. He is a featured speaker and published author on numerous topics including media relations, social media, technology, public speaking, memory, and various other cutting edge concepts. Mr. Grossberg’s “iPad Lawyer” seminars provide legal professionals with the ability to truly harness the potential of Apple’s tablet. He is regularly called upon to address the impact of emerging technology and social media, suggest policies and procedures that should be in place, and to discuss liability exposure for this new way of doing business. He can be reached at sgrossberg@cgclaw.com.

Leave a Reply

